Black Femininity: Black Women in Pinup

The 1O words that best describe my proposed exhibit:

  • Black Feminism
  • Black Women
  • Empowermen
  • Pinup/Vintage
  • Intersectionality
  • Glamour
  • Young Adults
  • Self-expression
  • Body-Positivity
  • Beauty

Location

I did want the exhibit to be located at the Georgia Museum of Art in Athens, Georgia, because the exhibition will be a unique gallery to the museum as the museum’s previous gallery consisted of artifacts and contemporary arts.

Georgia Museum of Art

But I consider that the exhibit will be at the High Museum in Atlanta because there is a space that would be great for my exhibition as I do want it to be temporary. But I might keep my original location.

The High Museum of Art in Atlanta, Ga., 

Features

I am still deciding on what will go into the exhibit, but I do have some ideas:

Over-head museum lights

  • Overhead Museum Lights to showcased the artworks
  • Music or an Voice Over in the museum, I want ot make it more vintage-style like
  • Have Ebony maginzes or Jet Maginzes hang on the Walls throughout the exhibit
  • Have vintage or antiques objects such as furnitures throughout the exhibit.
  • Mirrors hangup on the walls
  • vtinage/ pinup clothes such as shoes, makeups hang on the wall place on tables, so the vistors can see them
  • I also want a active actiivity for the guest, which will be a small space, where the guest will give their own pinup style.

Lastly, I am not sure how would I present this exhibit yet. I want the audience to walk into the space and look around the exhibit. But I am still figuring it out.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started