Shaienne’s Current Rotation ๐ŸŽถ

by Shaienne Knox

For all of us, the pandemic years (2020-??) have been difficult to say the least. For me to have any sense of normalcy or structure, especially during the beginning, I relied heavily on playlists. I had a playlist for everything from showering to cooking. My main playlist, Current Rotation, acts as place for me to continuously curate music. It is ever-evolving, and a representation of what is currently going on around me.

Notion x The Rare Occasions

TikTok is often responsible for songs included in my current rotation for the simple fact that I can’t get them out of my head. “Notion” reminds me of an early 2000s teen movie.

Planet God Damn x Mac Miller

The Divine Feminine by Mac Miller is easily one of my favorite albums. The song specifically has held its spot in my current rotation since I first heard it.

SAD GIRLZ LUV MONEY [Remix] x Amaarae & Kali Uchis ft. Moliy

Another TikTok hit, SAD GIRLZ LUV MONEY played a large role in the creative process for my senior thesis film about pole dancing. it just feels like floating, flying, and, obviously, dancing.

Nobody Like U x 4*TOWN (From Disney and Pixar’s Turning Red)

I feel like we are entering an era of Disney coming of age films that actually accurately depict coming of age (finally). Following Encanto, Turning Red gives preteen girls something to relate to, and 4*TOWN is actually not a bad band either.

Reciprocate X Summer Walker

I’ve stood beside Summer in her dimmest public moments, and all because her voice is really something special to me. I will never forget the day she came to Spelman’s campus for a spring concert.

Finesse x Pheelz & BNXN ft. Buju

I’ve recently been getting into afrobeats. The best parties during my time here in the AUC so far were once that included the music that sounds like this song.

Im glad to be able to share what is currently in rotation for me. Music is such an important cultural connection point, and when thinking about musical artists in the context of this class, innovative exchange becomes extremely relevant through the sharing of music. This is ultimately what brings artists into valorized society, regardless of skill. I hope this playlist brings about sharing exchanges of all forms.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started